SEB Gothenburg 2017 Award Winners

31 Jul 2017 - By: SEB

SEB Gothenburg 2017 Award Winners

Each year at the SEB Annual Meeting we like to reward student and early career scientists who are judged to have produced outstanding research. With over 850 delegates attending there was strong competition in each of the award sections. The SEB would like to thank all of the researchers who submitted for prizes and to congratulate the winners on their outstanding achievement. See below for further information on the SEB Gothenburg 2017 prize winners.


The Young Scientist Award Session (YSAS) provides the opportunity for postgraduates and postdocs, who are within 5 years since completing their PhD, to showcase their talents and is designed to recognise the best young researchers.There are two YSAS sessions held during the Annual Meeting, one covering Animal/Cell and the other covering Plant/Cell.

Three researchers were shortlisted for each YSAS session and were invited to present a 20 minute talk on their research. The prizes on offer were:

• 1st Prize: £400
• Runners up: 2 x £100

SEB-Gothenburg-2017-Animal-Cell YSAS

Animal – Cell

Winner - Anna Stockl (Lund University, Sweden; Aalto University, Finland)
Abstract title: Spatial summation in Hawkmoth Lamina Monopular Cells

Runner up - Rasmus Ern (University of Texas at Austin, United States)
Abstract title: Cardiorespiratory thermal tolerance in marine ectotherms and the effect of hypoxia on their upper thermal niche boundaries

Runner up - Christian Damsgaard (Aarhus University, Denmark)
Abstract title: Oxygen dictated the evolution of the vertebrate eye

SEB-Gothenburg-2017-Plant-Cell YSAS

Plant – Cell

Winner - Charlotte Hurst (University of Dundee; The James Hutton Institute, UK)
Abstract title: S-acylation: what the FLS2 is going on?

Runner up - Marjorie Lundgren (University of Sheffield, UK)
Abstract title: Despite phylogenetic effects, c3-c4 lineages bridge the ecological gap to c4 photosynthesis

Runner up - Sébastjen Schoenaers (University of Antwerp, Belgium)
Abstract title: The auxin-regulated CrRLK1L  kinase erulus controls cell wall composition during root hair tip growth.

Irene Manton Poster prizes

The Irene Manton Poster Prize is open to students and early career scientists. A prize of £100 is awarded to the best poster in each section (animal, cell, plant).

Plant Section 

SEB-Gothenburg-2017-Day-4-Pratiwi Prananingrum

Pratiwi Prananingrum (TU Kaiserslautern, Germany)
Abstract title: The characterization of the plastidic homolog of the vacuolar glucose transporter1 (VTG1)

Animal Section 

SEB Gothenburg 2017 - Day 4 - Anne Robertson

 Anne Robertson (University of British Columbia, Canada)
Abstract title: Fluorescent implantable elastomer tags for the measurement of oxygen within insects

Cell Section 

SEB-Gothenburg-2017-Day-4-Johanna Axling

Johanna Axling (Uppsala University, Sweden)
Abstract title: Genetic and molecular markers for reduced aggression in Atlantic salmon (Salmo Salar l.)

R. McNeill Alexander awards for Biomechanics

The R.McNeill Alexander awards for Biomechanics recognise outstanding research in the Open Biomechanics session. Three presentations and three posters are awarded.


1st place – Simon Chen (University of Cambridge, UK)
Abstract title: Production of attachment silk carpets is essential for herbivory in bicyclus anynana caterpillars

2nd place – James Walker (University of Oxford, UK)
Abstract title: Gaze direction during pursuit in peregrine falcons

3rd place – Ines Dawson (University of Oxford, UK)
Abstract title: Comparative kinematics of flapping flight in three dipteran species


1st place – Lucy Taylor (University of Oxford, UK)
Abstract: The fellowship of the wing: homing pigeons (columba livia) significantly increase their wingbeat frequency when flying in pairs

1st place – Emily Abbott (University of California Irvine, United States)
Abstract: A tendon-cy towards speed: how loading affects the velocity of tendon recoil

3rd place – Frederik Pueffel (Bremen University of Applied Sciences, Germany)
Abstract: Scaling of cutting forces in leaf-cutter ants





Author: SEB
Category: Plant Biology